School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering

Publisher:吕黄艳Release time:2020-11-11Number of views:74

The School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering (SEEE), the predecessor of SUES, was the mechanical and electrical branch of Shanghai Jiao Tong University in 1978. SEEE is committed to cultivating many high-level engineers and management talents in the field of Electronic, Electrical, and Information Engineering for Shanghai and the whole country. The School has access to the world's current technology frontier with Chinese strategic needs, promotes the development of the relevant industrial enterprises, and trains students with the top talents in this field.

The SEEE consists of four departments: Computer Science, Automation, Electrical Engineering, and Electronic Information. It also has one Computer Center of SUES, one Center Laboratory of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, and one basic electricity theory teaching and research section. Among the 140 faculty members, 50 of them are professors or associate professors, and 80% of the lecturers possess doctoral degrees. The School has recruited one full-time academician, one leading national talent with a unique support program, and several overseas teachers, academic elites, and corporate executives as part-time or visiting professors.

The goal of the SEEE is to enlighten wisdom and perceive the future. The School has promoted the results of some basic and theoretical research been turned into practice by focusing on the keywords of intelligence, perception, control, and big data. The School has achieved great fruits in machine vision, artificial intelligence, smart grid, green computing, smart city, big data, power system, industrial automation, and control optimization.

The SEEE has seven majors for undergraduates: Computer Science and Technology, Automation (which is an undergraduate pilot major of Shanghai Municipal Education Commission), Automation (which is a Sino-American cooperation program), Electrical Engineering and Automation (which is an undergraduate pilot major of Shanghai Municipal Education Commission), Electronic Information Engineering (which is a Sino-American cooperation program), Radio and Television Engineering (which is a pilot major of Ministry of Education and an undergraduate pilot major of Shanghai Municipal Education Commission), and Data Science and Big Data Technology. As described above, the Automation and Electronic Information Engineering majors are Sino-foreign cooperative education programs with Lawrence University in the US. The Computer Science and Technology major is a cooperative education program with Griffith College in Ireland; this program implements the 3 + 1 training mode, which means students of ESSS study at SUES for three years, and study at Griffith College for one year. The Electrical Engineering and Automation major is a cooperative education program with the University of Florida. It implements the 2+2 training mode. Honors students also obtain double degree qualifications both in China and abroad.

Meanwhile, the School has established one master's program of the Science and Engineering major authorized in first-level disciplines. The Mechatronic Engineering and IntelliSense and control majors have two master's programs and are authorized in second-level disciplines. There are more than 2,100 undergraduates and 400 postgraduates in the School. They rank among the best of various competitions, such as the National University Electronic Design Competition, Mathematical Modeling Competition, National University Smart Car Race Competition, and National University Siemens-Cup Intelligent Manufactory Challenge. The graduates' employment rate is above 98% per year, and after five years of working, the graduates' salary level will rank 63 in the country. Employers have highly regarded our graduates.